Skip to main content

Scottish Women Writers: From 1800 to the Great War



This timely and illuminating book traces the development of Scottish women’s writing in English from its genesis in the late eighteenth century to its flowering in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Transcending the hostility and prejudices of those who sought to silence them, an astonishing number of women found opportunities, in the midst of domestic obligations, to write, and often publish – novels, poetry, diaries, journalism, letters, essays and reportage.

From a rich and crowded field, Eileen Dunlop has made a selection of writers whose books have stood the test of time, illustrating their diverse life stories and the range of their work.

These include: Charlotte Waldie and Christina Keith who, respectively, visited Waterloo and Flanders in the immediate aftermath of battle; playwright Joanna Baillie; working-class poets Marion Bernstein and Janet Hamilton; literary multi-tasker and businesswoman Christian Isabel Johnstone; Emily Gerard, from whose travel memoir The Land Beyond the Forest Bram Stoker directly lifted the most blood-curdling elements of Dracula; and scientist and writer Mary Somerville who is pictured on the cover.

This title is also available as an e-book:

Author: Eileen Dunlop

Eileen Dunlop is the author of over 20 novels and non-fiction titles for children, and of three biographies published by NMS Enterprises: Robert Louis Stevenson: The Travelling Mind; Queen Margaret of Scotland and Walter Scott: A Life in Story.




ISBN: 9781910682470

Delivery charges are based on the total weight and destination of each order. Find out more about delivery.